ANGOP - Angola Press News AgencyANGOP - Angola Press News Agency

Go to homepage



Home » News » Politics

Fri, 25 Aug 2017 13:00 - Updated Fri, 25 Aug 2017 13:00

Election2017: Provisional results give ruling party 145 MPs

Luanda - The provisional results of the Wednesday’s election released on Thursday in Luanda by the National Electoral Commission give victory to the ruling MPLA party with 64,57 percent, earning it 145 of the 220-seat Parliament.

Send by email

To share this news by email, fill out the information below and click Send


To report errors in the texts of articles published, fill out the information below and click Send

A picture of the National Assembly (file)

Photo: Clemente

The provisional counting places the main opposition UNITA party in the second position with 24,04 percent and 48 seats in the National Assembly (Angolan Parliament).

CASA-CE coalition follows with 8,56 percent (15 MPs), PRS with 1,37 percent (two MPS), FNLA with 0,95 percent (one MP) and APN with 0,52 percent.

According to the CNE, the election results released until Thursday evening indicate that MPLA got 2.8 million votes, against UNITA’s 1.4 million in the second position with 24,4 percent.

The provisional results in respect correspond to the counting of votes from 16,692 ((63,74 percent) of estimated 25,474 voting tables.

Read also